Implemented Skills Recognition Program in ASEAN and establishment National Skills Standard Authority

Myanmar was a member of ASEAN in 1997 and ASEAM Member Countries adopted to develop AEC into a single market and production base, a highly competitive economic region, a region of equitable economic development, and a region fully integrated into the global economy. An ASEAN single market and production base comprised five core elements:

  1. free flow of goods;
  2. free flow of services;
  3. free flow of investment;
  4. free flow of capital; and
  5. free flow of skilled labour

ASEAN Labour Ministers’ Meeting agreed to establish Mutual Recognition Agreement in ASEAN through National Qualification Framework and to free-flow of skilled labour and goods. Skill Recognition System in ASEAN established by assisting ASEAN-Australia Strategic Partnership in 2014 according to that Agreement.

The Skill Recognition System in ASEAN established with Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Vietnam and Thailand, who have yet to adopt Occupational Competency Standard, by developing National Occupational Competency Standard respectively and Extension Project was implemented in 2016. For this project, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Vietnam and Thailand designed competency standard for Arc Welder, Air Condition Technician, Concreter, Poultry Farm Worker, and Tour Guide occupations as pilot test to benchmark and compare skills qualification framework.

Skills Regulatory Body must be organized, Myanmar established National Skills Standards Authority (NSSA) in 2007 and NSSA identifies 4 levels of skills qualification framework from supervisor level to below and is accrediting skills of workers.

The ASEAN Economic Community (AEC)’s vision must be implemented and Myanmar needs to produce highly skilled workers who can compete with other countries in the labor market. ASEAN Qualification Reference Framework (AQRF) was adopted by ASEAN Member States for benchmarking mutual or bilateral countries to enhance qualification reference framework each country, to harmonize skilled qualifications of occupations. The AQRF aims free flow of accreditation services within ASEAN countries and the establishment of the ASEAN Regional Accreditation Framework through the National Skills Framework.

Attachment List Download